7. Cycle LEJOG: the last leg

Cycle LEJOG: Milton Keynes to Barwell (the last leg)

Day 1: MK to market harborough (48 miles)
Day 2: market harborough to Quorn, via Rutland water (61 miles)
Day 3: Quorn to Barwell (33 miles)
Total: 142 miles

Overall LEJOG total: 1480

“Make this week count, after all, you don’t get much holiday”, my partner said as I pondered what to do with my rota’d in annual leave in early March.

Wise words indeed and so I began planning a two night cycle camping adventure to take me from MK to Barwell. This would mark the completion of my convoluted LEJOG in keeping with the rather scenic route taken thus far.

Day 1 presented a Once in a Lifetime occasion; I’m never cycling through Northampton again. I wonder now how I thought it could be pleasurable, after all it is not renowned for its charm. To make matters worse the Sustrans route seemed to meander through nearly all of Northampton’s industrial estates, making me wonder just how awful the rest is, if those bits were counted as scenic by the cycle route planners. North of Northampton I pedalled along the Brampton valley way, a 14 mile disused railway to Market Harborough complete with long unlit tunnels.The tunnels were definitely a highlight, providing more adrenaline than is commonly associated with cycle touring. Signs along the route warned of their unlit and lengthy nature and although armed with my head torch I was still fearful of the what might lie ahead. As the dark archway came ever closer it was clear that although my head torch proved surprisingly weedy, the end was always in sight. I kept looking straight ahead determined that if I didn’t deviate my gaze there wouldn’t be anything frightening to see. Finally as I reached the end I breathed a sigh of relief. Not as bad as anticipated, but definitely an occasion when cycling as a pair seemed a better idea.

Reaching the campsite the owner was clearly baffled by my request for a pitch with a campfire, perhaps because I was a girl by myself, or because less than 2 hours of daylight remained or maybe because the overnight forecast was for temperatures to fall to one degree. Either way, out of kindness or concern she offered to drive the fire pit to my tent and I’m sure at one point she was only words away from offering me her spare room. The fire proved fun, with marshmallow toasting as satisfying in early March as other times of the year. I’d be lying if I wasn’t slightly relieved when the warmth of morning came, but I had slept quite well and it was the wind rather than the cold that had kept me awake at times.

Day 2 was a hard ride out to Rutland water. Although I grew up in Leicestershire I was unaware of the Leicestershire Alps in the south east of the county. Indeed so are most of the population, but for my cycle touring-unaccustomed legs this hilly part of the ride proved somewhat harder than anticipated. I will learn to look at route elevation profiles someday. Highlights however included pretty Uppingham, home to one of the UK’s poshest schools. I arrived at lunchtime and so the whole of the town was awash with blazer clad school children leaving their classes and heading to lunch. I felt rather out of place cycling through this Harry Potter esque scene in my less than posh cycling Lycra.

Next highlight was Rutland water. I joined the eastern section of the reservoir perimeter bike ride encountering numerous other cyclists taking on the whole 18 mile off road path. I enjoyed the wetland scenery and tranquility of the blue water bathed under the almost completely blue sky by pausing for a picnic lunch to further admire the view.

Th country side between Oakham and Leicester was surprisingly beautiful and surprisingly remote feeling, though pleasantly less hilly than the ride before lunch. At one point, as I crossed a field then turned through a railway arch on a single track country road to find sheep blocking the route ahead, I felt I could have been in Northumberland or the West Country, rather than the reality of just a few miles from my parental home. That’s one of the joys of cycle touring for me, to see the lesser known side of a place by following the smallest tracks to meander through the smallest villages and lesser known countryside, exactly the places that are avoided when travelling by car from A to B.

In Leicester, my route took me through Watermead country park, marking the actual point of LEJOG completion as I had cycled through here on my route heading south from Edinburgh. After a celebratory Snickers I pedalled onwards to Quorn for the final night’s camping of the trip. No fires here and no showers either disappointingly. Still, a beautiful, if cold sunset with noodles and hot chocolate, whilst snuggled in my sleeping bag with a book, so it wasn’t all bad.

The final morning was foggy. Undeterred I set off quite early looping round north west Leicestershire through Nanpantan, then the not so scenic Coalville and on to Congerstone. For here, in Congerstone, I had a lunch date. A lunch date with my mum and her Quilting Ladies. I’d forewarned regarding the lack of shower for 100 cycling miles and they very politely still insisted I drop in. This proved to be a lovely interlude and also reminded me that some of the most beautiful countryside I’ve seen on all of my near on 1500 miles is that within 20 miles of where I grew up!

Onwards for the last 12 miles, now on familiar territory both thrilled that I’d completed my rather convoluted LEJOG line and rather sad too that this particular adventure was coming to a close. Proud too of what can be achieved with a bit of determination. Well 1480 miles worth.

About drruthcorrigan

I am about to qualify as a doctor and start the rest of my life. I am driven by challenges, whether academic or adventurous and regard my relationships with my family and partner as the most important things in my life. I will turn 30 next year and this blog will record the challenges I have set myself to mark the occasion and record how my year progresses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment