1. Learn to kayak

Kayak Lesson 1

“You here for paddling?”
“Yes,” I replied tentatively, entering the pub’s beer garden.

I knew I was in the right place: leaning up against the trellis was a kayak paddle and piled on a picnic table was a selection of buoyancy aids. Props lined up like blind date clues for clueless newcomers. No river in sight however, just the beer flowing…

My first kayak session was a pub social: less paddling and more talking about paddling. With more than a whiff of Fresher’s Week it was quickly established that key questions were needed to isolate the kayakers from the canoeists and the Wednesdays from the Thursdays. After that conversation flowed more freely, altogether a friendly bunch with a higher than average collection of healthcare workers and cyclists. And kayakers, but I expected that.

A further surprise: Ruth, the nurse who wants to kayak having enjoyed it so much on Milford Sound meets Ruth, the doctor who wants to kayak having enjoyed it so much on Doubtful Sound. Small world, sort of.

Looking forward to next week already.

About drruthcorrigan

I am about to qualify as a doctor and start the rest of my life. I am driven by challenges, whether academic or adventurous and regard my relationships with my family and partner as the most important things in my life. I will turn 30 next year and this blog will record the challenges I have set myself to mark the occasion and record how my year progresses.
This entry was posted in The List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment