7. Cycle LEJOG (preparation blog 1)

My parents think I’m crazy.

“Hello, what are you up to this evening?” my mum asked on the phone.
“I’m camping!”
“Where? With whom?” she replied, intrigued.
“Just me, just outside of Oxford.”
“Oh…” she paused, “What are you doing tomorrow?”
“Cycling back.”
“Ok, well let me know in the morning when you’re back.”
“Sure, but I’m going via the Cotswolds so it’ll be late afternoon.”

I can almost hear the sharp intake of breath and the thoughts of ‘what am I going to do with you?’ whirring around my mum’s head.

You see, I’m training. I’ve set myself the challenge of #7. Cycle LEJOG (Lands End to John o Groats), by far the most ambitious item on my 30 before 30 agenda. It’s around 1000 miles and, at my already optimistic pace of 65 miles per day, will take approximately 15 days of cycling. Add in a couple of contingency days and a bit of travelling time and it’s a three week adventure. That’s a shame as I only have two weeks.

Annoyingly my three week holiday is broken after two by my graduation. Although an exciting occasion, for a graduation veteran like myself (embarrassingly it’ll be my fourth) part of me would rather be cycling.

My solution therefore is to pedal for two weeks from John O’Groats, as far as I can, hopefully to at least Worcester. Then, return to Oxford and graduate. Then, after my sister’s wedding, resume my trip to Lands End. I may need to have a third adventure to join the two ends together. It may not be a seamless LEJOG, or indeed JOGLE, but it’ll count.

But even a patchwork JOGLE needs preparation. I need to practice long cycles, long back to back cycles, navigation and carrying everything I need by myself; I’ll have no Dino to map read and carry the stove*, I need to make sure I can do it all by myself.

So, this weekend I’m practicing camping by myself and being self sufficient. Just eight miles out of Oxford to my campsite, then an ambitious 72 around the Cotswolds. A mini triangle based upon our May Bank Hol with a similar variety of cute limestone towns, gently undulating roads and the occasional steep hill. So far so good, though I need to hone my kit somewhat for my fear of getting cold at night results in carrying too many layers. Merino may well be the answer here. Otherwise my fear of fear when alone in a tent was unfounded, though I did miss the extra warmth of a second tent buddy. I opted for just one night away on my first solo expedition but so far am reassured that a second (and third etc) would remain fun, though it hasn’t rained on this mini adventure, yet.

Navigation-wise I’m also pleased with myself so far. On the real LEJOG I intend to map solely by iPad so as to limit the amount of paper I need to carry. The faff of charging etc is a whole new blog post to be awaited with interest. For today I am relying on my pre-planned iPad route combined with a paper map for reference. Largely this is due to logistics: a disappointing Wiggle experience means my bar bag (and iPad holder) did not arrive in time, and so my iPad must travel wrapped in a pannier whereas my map can travel unprotected in my jersey pocket. Cunning uses of Sustrans routes also minimises the need for map checking stops, as long as they are reliably sign posted of course.

Food wise I’m adamant not to put on weight over LEJOG (unlike in France!) but consuming enough healthy calories to keep going is a difficult compromise. After all, bananas are heavier and less satisfying than an equivalent snickers. Today though, so far, i’m fruit fuelled.

So far then so good. But as I write this I’ve only done 26 miles. I’ll see how I feel when I’m back in Oxford, and if I manage 72. Maybe I’ll agree with my parents by the end of the day.

Update: I’m home! More importantly I’m happy and had a great day. This bodes well. The only disappointment was that Viewranger overestimated my route; I’d only done 68 miles by the time I was home. So I nipped up the road until my odometer counted 70. Probably my longest bike ride ever. I flagged around 40 miles but that was pre lunch, otherwise I felt good. Though I must agree with Dino that I ought to pace myself slightly better (she’ll be pleased).

Some figures then:
Distance: 70.4 miles
Time: 5hrs 57 minutes
Average speed: 11.8 mph
Max speed: 37.2 mph

Water consumed: 1.3 L
Food consumed: 2 sachets of instant porridge, a handful of raisins, 2 bananas, a coffee and biscuit, an apple, a tracker bar, a cheese sandwich and a bag of crisps.

Miles of LEJOG training on my touring bike since NZ: 341

*Dino’s contribution to any adventure far exceeds these two cited roles of course. She will be cycling across Canada whilst I cycle LEJOG. Follow her here

About drruthcorrigan

I am about to qualify as a doctor and start the rest of my life. I am driven by challenges, whether academic or adventurous and regard my relationships with my family and partner as the most important things in my life. I will turn 30 next year and this blog will record the challenges I have set myself to mark the occasion and record how my year progresses.
This entry was posted in The List and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7. Cycle LEJOG (preparation blog 1)

  1. Frankie says:

    Having just caught the bike touring bug myself, I am following your LEJOG prep with great interest! Also, um, congrats on the 4th graduation.

    I have a handlebar pack with a not-so-little map window which is great (it also holds snacks and sunscreen and keys and phone, bonus), but I’m also about to get an Earl (a GPS tablet e-reader for outdoor adventuring) which has a built-in solar panel. In fact, there are 1001 little solar charging devices which can be strapped to oneself/panniers if you stick with the iPad option.

    • Hey Frankie,
      Nice to hear from you. Trust you are well? Are you in the USA still?

      Also glad you have the touring bug too!

      I’ve opted (rightly or wrongly) for a dynamo hub with battery pack for charging the iPad and phone. Initially through concern’s regarding the amount of sunlight in the UK vs the reasonably high iPad demands.

      With hindsight however the hub option is proving pretty expensive and I’m still testing out kit to optimise the set up. I’ll post when I’ve got a good arrangement.

      The earl looks pretty good too. I hadn’t heard of it until you mentioned it. Perhaps I would have gone down that route too as it is neatly designed for purpose.

      Have you any tours planned yourself?

      I’m also currently eyeing up road bikes. Cycling is an expensive hobby!

  2. All sounds very impressive, I’m a little concerned at your hydration though. 1.3litres given that much exercise seems really quite low. You might not feel like you’re perspiring at slower speeds, but still…

Leave a comment