7. Cycle LEJOG: Leg 2 day 1: Edinburgh to Perth

Day 1: Edinburgh to Perth

Distance 50 miles
Average 10mph
Time 4hr 57
Max 41 mph (new top speed)

In many ways today, my first day on this leg of my end to end adventure, was going to be my toughest.

Finalists’ dinner the night before, 5 hours sleep, a 7am train, setting off from Edinburgh at 1415 and 50 miles to cycle; no easy feat.

I tried to make life easier for myself where possible; first class travel to Edinburgh and catching the train before the one I needed from Oxford to pre empt New Street rush hour stress with a bike in tow. In the event a wise decision as a “fatality” caused our train (and many others all morning) to be diverted.

Getting off the train at Edinburgh excitement had finally overcome nerves. In part this was due to the kindness and enthusiasm of a fellow cyclist setting off on his own adventure back to London. He’d then spotted the many steps needed to ascend in order to exit Waverley and had returned, unprompted by me, to lend a hand. This cyclist camaraderie is one of the things about cycling that I love. Even in its simplest forms, the helmet nod or subtle gloved wave, it says I love cycling and I respect you for loving it too.

With hindsight I wish I had factored more time in Edinburgh into this trip mostly to catchup with friends here. From George Street the view to the Mound with its imposing gothic architecture metres away from castle rock and Edinburgh Castle really is world class. It’s a stunningly beautiful city and I loved my time living here. It seemed appropriate therefore the first 10 miles of this new adventure was a literal trip down memory lane; a bike ride we’d do often (to Queensferry). I felt a further pang of nostalgia as Edinburgh’s familiar malty smell filled my nostrils and the same buzz of excitement as the Fourth road and rail bridges appeared in view for the first time as I headed north.

Memory lane for sure until only six miles from the city, yet to reach Queensferry, I was confronted with the dreaded “Cycle Path Closed” sign. After a moment’s panic I found the diversion which wound its way past the as yet unknown to me, but beautiful Dalmeny House.

Crossing the Fourth road bridge my excitement grew. This was my gateway to the unfamiliar, to as yet unchartered (but soon to be conquered) territory, to the rest of Scotland no less.

I continued to follow the well signposted National Cycle Network Route 1 to Inverkeithing and Dunfermline then up through hills and pine forests before descending to Kinross and on to Perth. Arriving at my campsite I was tired but thrilled to have made it. Destined to be a difficult day it proved to be well within my capabilities, leaving me feeling positive rather than apprehensive about the days to come.

A few other thoughts from today:

Edinburgh smells of malt, other Scottish towns so far smell of chips
Scotland is hilly
Scotland is windy
Scotland is beautiful
I’ve missed the Scottish accent
Cycle paths in Scotland are excellent
I need to eat before hunger strikes

About drruthcorrigan

I am about to qualify as a doctor and start the rest of my life. I am driven by challenges, whether academic or adventurous and regard my relationships with my family and partner as the most important things in my life. I will turn 30 next year and this blog will record the challenges I have set myself to mark the occasion and record how my year progresses.
This entry was posted in The List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment